Skip to content
October 2, 2010 / thevegmeg

Race time…!

I am not a runner. I have bad lungs, my knees often hurt, and the idea of running for more than ten minutes at a time makes me want to hurl. I can’t believe such things as marathons or Iron Mans exist. I’m lazy, and I’m pretty consistent about canceling my early-morning “runs” as soon as my alarm goes off at whatever ungodly, dark hour it is (today it was 6:30am). I’ve never run a mile without walking, not even in elementary school, and hills make me want to cry.

With all that said…Four weeks from today, I will be running my first road race. Alex and I just registered for our first 5k. It’s the Spinx RunFest 5k on October 30 and oh my goodness am I nervous. We’ve been trying to follow the Couch to 5k training plan over the last few months, but a lot of things have gotten in our way, including the wedding, school, work, and ourselves. But now we’ve spent over $60 on this, so come hell or high water, we will be at that race. And hopefully, we’ll finish it without walking. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

