Skip to content
November 7, 2010 / thevegmeg

Yummy, Easy, Quick Soup

I made this for dinner the other night and while I didn’t get to eat it at dinnertime, if you put it in the crockpot for a few hours or have more than 30 minutes to both cook and eat your dinner, you’ll be fine. I started it on the stovetop, realized that I had way more veggies than would work with the amount of stock and size of pot I was using, split it up between two pots and added more liquid, realized I was way out of time, then washed my crockpot for the first time, dumped it all in, and set it to low. Then I ran off to rehearsal for four hours. No big deal. When I came back it was ready and waiting for me and ohhh it was delicious! You get to learn from my mistakes – start it in the crockpot. Then if (when) you have to run off and do the rest of your life, it can still cook and not explode your pets. Yay!

I don’t have a “recipe,” per se, but the soup contained roughly:

2 red potatoes, diced

2 carrots, chopped

1 small onion, chopped

1 c frozen corn

1 c frozen peas

1 can Great Northern beans, drained & rinsed

1 c (maybe?) spinach, chiffonaded (that can’t be a word… stack the leaves, roll it up, slice into strips)

2-3 c veggie broth

1ish? c unsweetened almond milk

Olive oil

Salt, pepper, adobo seasoning, paprika, garlic powder

I sauteed the onion, and then the carrots and potatoes, in the oil for a little while, and then added everything else, but to start it in the crockpot you can leave the oil out. Just dump it all into your crockpot, set it to low, and walk away. I added the spinach at the end, but when I make this again I will add the spinach at the beginning as well as a couple chopped stalks of celery. You could add pretty much anything to this soup…maybe a grain or some noodles to make it Non-Chicken Noodle Soup? Chickpeas? Pretty much any vegetable you want? Try it. It’s nummy nums.

Leave a Reply

