Skip to content
November 14, 2010 / thevegmeg

Weakness


This morning I woke up bright and early (6:50) to get ready to go to yoga. Oh, that’s something I should’ve told you about. Last week, I bought a 20-card pass to Southern Om hot yoga on Living Social for $20. I’m telling you, if you don’t subscribe to Living Social and Groupon, you really should. I saved approximately $200 on this deal, and I’ve been wanting to try a class there for months now, so I wasn’t about to let it pass me by. Anyway, so I took two classes that first week – my first time ever trying hot yoga – and I’ve loved it. It feels so good to sweat that much, and my body likes being stretched and twisted and moved, and I feel so calm and soft and into my breathing for hours after class ends. It makes my brain feel great. I’m really excited to go to class this morning, because it’s been a week since my last class.

So I roll out of bed, before 7, and I’m about to get dressed when I realize… my hands are already killing me. The only issue I’ve been having with yoga is that after about 20 to 30 minutes (in a 90 minute class) of doing Chaturanga -> Downward Dog flows, my hands and wrists completely seize up. When we shift into seated and standing poses, I fare a lot better. I’m fairly certain I could handle keeping up the entire class, except that… It kills my wrists. I mean, I probably spend half the class in Child’s Pose.

Wrist pain, and joint pain and weakness in general, is something I’ve dealt with as long as I can remember. I used to wake up, five years old, crying because my knees hurt. It’s the reason I’m not a gymnast anymore (oh yeah, I used to do gymnastics). It’s the reason I hate driving in the winter. I went to the doctor for it once, in fact, four years ago, and was essentially told, by a nurse practitioner,  “Take some Tylenol.” A great use of the $100 for my co-pay, right?

So this morning, my hands already sore, I decided to test them. I did a Down Dog to test, only for a few seconds, and they felt awful. That pretty much made my decision for me: I wasn’t going to go. Which made me sad, because I was already up. I was already registered for the class (I was able to cancel without losing one of my class passes – whew). I was already looking forward to it… but I knew I’d be miserable the entire time. So I got back into bed and eventually fell back asleep. I was, and am, a little disappointed, but realizing my limits – even if they are lame – is worth it. It’s worth it to not be crying in Child’s Pose because I can’t do what I feel I should be able to do. This is something I’m learning as I become more active: sometimes, it’s just smarter to stay home. That resting isn’t weakness. And, you know, that it’s nice to get more than 5 hours of sleep sometimes. I’m planning to take a class Tuesday afternoon. :]

all images credit lululemon athletica.
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. eatspinlive / Nov 14 2010 4:09 pm

    Wow! That is a great yoga deal 🙂 Hope it was fun!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Weakness « the veg meg -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

