Skip to content
November 14, 2010 / thevegmeg

Winner Dinner

Today was a “pantry food” day. We’re low on groceries but it was time to use up some of the stuff we’ve been neglecting. We woke up late and just snacked a little in the morning, so the first real “meal” of the day was lunch. I had oatmeal.

I used Kath’s method for making the oats: equal parts oats, water, and (almond) milk, half a banana, some nutmeg (we’re out of cinnamon), a tiny pinch of salt, and some brown sugar. Topped with apple butter, a spoonful of Justin’s chocolate almond butter, and some cinnamon-brown sugar almonds. Yummy.

Then I went and worked the matinee (I’m stage managing this one), and it was a teeny tiny bit of a fiasco. Nothing big or awful happened, like it did on opening night (how about a crazy drunk girl yelling at my actors? Yikes.), but tons of little things kept going wrong: two watches broke, actress lost her shoes walking onstage, a burger (there’s real raw and cooked beef onstage, ahh) fell to the ground…and of course we had to hold the show (start late) seven minutes. Theatre etiquette note: show up at least ten minutes early. If you aren’t going to show up on the night you reserved seats for, for any reason (or if you’re going to be ridiculously late), call the box office! It would help us out. A lot. Thank you. (steps off soapbox)

For dinner I cooked the rest of the millet I toasted weeks ago and roasted the butternut squash that’s been sitting in the pantry for weeks. Here’s how to roast a butternut squash:
1. Get your husband to cut it in half
2. Scoop out the pulp/seed gooey parts
3. Rub the cut sides with fat of choice (I used butter because we don’t have olive oil right now)
4. Sprinkle with spices of your choice: I used salt, pepper, and some brown sugar. Yummm
5. Roast in a 400 degree oven for approximately 30 minutes, depending on how big your squash is

When it came out of the oven I diced it up and peeled the skin off. I sauteed the prepared millet in some coconut oil with frozen corn and peas, as well as salt, pepper, and paprika.

Alex loved it – I win!  About halfway through eating my plate I realized that I was not, at all, hungry. I think it has to do with how I’ve been getting home between 10:30 and midnight every night this week, so my body isn’t used to having 7/8pm dinner anymore.

After dinner, Alex told me he could go for a smoothie…how often does my husband ask me to make him a green monster? Never. I jumped on it.

My standard mix: banana, strawberries (frozen), spinach, orange juice, almond milk


Perfect!

This winner dinner brought to you by a girl that’s been a wife for three months as of today! :]

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Liza / Nov 15 2010 7:43 am

    Yum! Will have to try that dinner (or some reasonable facsimile thereof). : )

    ¡Feliz Anniversario! : ) ♥

Leave a Reply

