Skip to content
December 3, 2010 / thevegmeg

Little joys


This is my new favorite breakfast, ever. I discovered it yesterday… Start with almond milk and freeze-dried berries. Microwave until warm. Stir in a serving (or a little more, ;] ) of shredded wheat – I’m eating Kashi’s “Island Vanilla” variety now. Top with chopped pecans (or almonds or walnuts) and a drizzle of maple syrup (which isn’t pictured, because there were way too many berries in the bowl this morning and it was kind of ugly). Devour. [4.]

Another joy from yesterday: the re-discovery of my newer pair (from January, hah!) of running shoes. I trekked through some thick, red mud on the way to class in September or October, so my comfiest kicks have been hiding out in my trunk… I wore them in the rain on Monday to help rinse them, and wore them to my service learning (where I help prepare dinner for underprivileged school kids) yesterday. It was like walking on pillows. [5.]

Today I didn’t have the car, so I had to get a ride to and from campus. My ride home didn’t get out of class til an hour after I do, so I took advantage of the extra hour with nothing to do and went for my first run in a month. I started out a little too fast, unaccustomed to my “good” pace, and the 2-mile “run” turned into more of a walk with running breaks scattered throughout. It was pretty cold and windy out, and that made it kind of hard to breathe. Still, I got out there and did it, and that’s what counts. [6.]

Tonight Alex was working some fancy shmancy Christmas party, so I was home by myself (with the furbabies, of course). Dinner was…shredded wheat. I’m telling you, I bought this box yesterday morning and it’s almost empty. Addicted. Anyway I was sitting on the couch reading blogs and at some point I looked and saw that Achilles had curled up on a pillow on the floor. Cozy. [7.]

Tomorrow morning the Hub is going with me to yoga. I’m really excited! Off to hydrate and sleep. Go get yourself a box of shredded wheat and some freeze-dried berries! Unless you’re gluten-free. Then don’t.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. honeybeeluvsjackfruit / Dec 3 2010 11:35 pm

    Looks really yummy! I love freeze dried fruits.

  2. Liza / Dec 4 2010 8:30 am

    Alex does yoga…coooool! : )

Leave a Reply

