Skip to content
December 6, 2010 / thevegmeg

Weekend’s joys

I had the skeleton of this post written early yesterday evening, saved it and closed my computer down to make dinner and decorate the tree (and watch an Anne Frank’s Diary movie – Hubs and I couldn’t find any Christmas movies on Netflix or cable!), and when I came back to my computer at 11 I just didn’t care. I was tired. I think that’s because I got under four hours of sleep Saturday night, woops! Here it is. This Weekend’s Joys…

Saturday, Alex came along with me to yoga. He did great! I didn’t fare so well. My wrists were acting up and my legs were very easily fatigued, probably from my run on Friday. [8.]

When we got home from yoga I took a short nap and woke up with my little Hippo sleeping on my butt, which hasn’t happened in, uh, weeks. She used to sleep with us all the time, and I’ve missed it! [9.]

Saturday night one of my best friends and I got to reconnect over drinks and a good movie! [10.]

When I got home from the movie I tried on this dress, which I made to my exact measurements a year and a half ago. It is now roughly two sizes too big! [11.] I also tried on my senior prom dress (fits waaaaay better than it did when I wore it) and my wedding dress, which was loose just FOUR MONTHS after I wore it!

Sunday morning, even though i’d only gotten about three and a half (hmm, maybe four) hours of sleep, I was excited to get out of bed, [12.] to start  the Advent reading plan I was going to start on December 1 (oops) on YouVersion. While Alex was practicing with David Walker at CrossRoads, I went to Starbucks and started reading with a soy latte. [13.]

At church (which I don’t talk about a lot on here, for lots of reasons, but I’m realizing those reasons aren’t necessarily right or good…) I was able to, for the first time in a long time, completely disconnect myself from my life and give myself up in worship. [14.] I think it is due, in part, to yoga teaching me to be present in the moment and not think about other people or what I’m going to make for dinner. And part to a small, personal discovery I made this morning. And all to God doin’ his thing.

We went to Red Robin for lunch (you can sub veggie burgers on all of them! but I don’t have any pictures) and our waitress was a girl from my freshman hall that i haven’t seen in a while. She was so happy and easygoing. It was so non-awkward like a lot of situations like that could be. It cheered me to see a (however small our friendship was) positive person from my (however recent) past feel secure in her future. [15.]

Lunch was followed by another nap with the entire family in the bed, including Achilles sleeping by my belly and Hippo sleeping on Alex’s legs. [16.] I love our little furbabies!

(photo from from clgamer.com)

My phone just told me I have a text (from Twitter, of course…). My text noise is the sound from the communicator watches on Power Rangers. [17.] “Go go Power Rangers…” Yeah. It makes me smile every time I hear it. Best little decision I’ve made!

And finally, last night Alex and I got around to buying some ornaments for our tree and hanging them up. It looks so pretty: our first Christmas tree. [18.]



One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. viviene / Dec 15 2010 11:42 pm

    =p i like the “go go power rangers” =D

    simple joys do make every one smile =)

Leave a Reply

