Skip to content
December 20, 2010 / thevegmeg

Happy birthday Hippo!

Hello, little blog. It sure has been a while, hasn’t it? On Wednesday I finally wrapped up my second-to-last semester as an undergrad (wooo!) so the past few weeks have sure been crazy in my life. Last week was ideal, though… all of my final projects were turned in and all I had to do was show up and take exams. In between I cleaned, cooked, ate, worked out, and slept. It was really nice!

This week is more of the same, plus shopping, present-wrapping, Christmas parties, church, Christmas Eve with The Hub’s parents, and Christmas with mine. I’m ok with that :]

Breakfast today was oats in a Sunbutter (mmm!) jar and a mug of hot lemon water. In the jar:

1/3 c oats

1/3 c water

1/3 c almond milk

1/2 banana

big sprinkle cinnamon, pinch salt, teeniest tiniest pinch nutmeg

drop or two vanilla extract

apple butter (on top)

I think I didn’t let the oats cook long enough because they were runny and kind of gross. I may have put too much apple butter in, too. Oh well. That mug is my favorite — I got it in a “Secret Valentine” swap on my sophomore year hall — but it’s on its last leg: the handle is cracking off! Boo. Luckily I ordered a new favorite mug for myself in order to get a discount on Alex’s Christmas presents – double yay!

It says “forever and a day” on it, and the pennants on it are similar to ones we had at our wedding! My shipment should be here tomorrow and I can’t wait to drink cider out of it :]

Please excuse me for the annoying “parent” tendencies I’m about to exhibit… Today is the first anniversary of the day we adopted Hippo! She was between three and four months old when we got her, so we’re just going to pretend this is her birthday from here on out. She enjoyed a plate of organic chicken-and-cheddar canned food after we sang happy birthday to her. She’s my sweet little baby muffin and I’m so glad everything worked out and we got to keep her. She gives me so so much joy (and cuddles). Here’s a little taste of how she’s grown over the last year…

This was her first night home – a year ago today. She fell asleep on my chest and stayed there for hours.

She still does this – lets me pick her up (sometimes she cries just to be picked up!) and then nuzzles against my face and neck! It’s the most adorable thing ever!

She’s put up with being leash-trained, being toted from my no-animals-allowed on-campus apartment to the theatre every night, being on stage every night for two weeks straight in front of big scary audiences, moving, being taken on walks, being left at my parents’ house with two big boy kitties for a weekend while Alex and I were on our honeymoon, and getting a new big brother who just so happens to be a dog. She sure is a good baby and I’m kind of angry at her for being so big. Stay a tiny baby kitten forever, little muffin. I love you.

Leave a Reply

