Skip to content
January 12, 2011 / thevegmeg

Icemageddon

As you have probably heard about by now, the Southeast was slammed this week with a pretty intense winter storm. I’ve heard that this is the worst snow/ice storm the Upstate of SC has seen in over a decade, which um… yeah. They had been calling for snow since sometime late last week, and again, I didn’t really believe it, though I thought it’d be neat to have the first day of classes be a snow day. But surely enough, very early Monday morning it began snowing… and snowing… and snowing. When Hippo woke me up at 5:45am, I looked out our window and there was at least 6 inches of snow already on the ground. Wow! School had been cancelled for me the night before and it was obvious Alex wouldn’t be going in, either, so we got to have a nice snow day. We did almost nothing. Millionaire Matchmaker was watched and beer was consumed.

Yesterday was more of the same – except that now there was a quarter-inch thick sheet of ice covering all the fluffy snow!

We managed to get out of the house for a walk down to the gas station, mostly to see what the conditions were on the main road.

This is the parking lot in our apartment complex… a sea of ice.

And the street our complex is on… definitely not doable. It’s hilly, too! No way.

But at least the snow is pretty, right?

Today Alex had to go into the office, even though everything that melted during the day yesterday refroze with the 16-degree temps last night. I can’t tell you how unexcited I was about it. All of the news reports have been calling the main road we live off of “treacherous.” Treacherous! Like the ice is out to get us! We spent about half an hour, maybe a little more, smashing and scraping and brushing the snow and ice off the car. After he left I made some pb&j&cinnamon toast to occupy myself until the time he should be getting there, and luckily as I was eating it he called me to say he was in and safe and hadn’t smashed any cars to bits. Whew.

All of my professors (and everyone else’s, too) seem to think that although both the bookstore and the post office are closed, we should still be able to get our books and start reading. And you know what? Even if the bookstore was open and I could get there, I wouldn’t buy my books from there. My chemistry book is $150 from the bookstore, USED, and I bought it on Amazon for $25. There’s just no contest! My chem professor’s email Sunday sounded like we can expect a QUIZ on our first day of class, whenever that will be. I’m really hoping the two chem classes I took in high school and the for-non-majors class I took two years ago will get me through!

I’m starting to get a little stir-crazy and I have no idea if we’ll have class tomorrow or not. I’m really hoping to be able to get out of the house tonight or tomorrow and get a yoga session in — unfortunately my studio is a thirty minute drive in normal conditions, meaning at least an hour now, and I don’t know if I have the nerves for that, so it’s probably not likely. I’m really wishing I had a treadmill at home right about now, but nothing’s stopping me from doing a yoga podcast besides myself, is it? :]

Leave a Reply

