Skip to content
March 6, 2011 / thevegmeg

Tour d’Charlotte and Reedy River Run

Yesterday morning Alex and I “ran” our second 5k. I say “ran” because I walked probably 70% of it. I learned something this weekend that should’ve been common sense… Over the past week or two, whenever I’d wear my running shoes (even if I wasn’t running), my ankles and arches would get a little sore over the course of the day. This manifested itself during the race as a shooting, I-really-can’t-do-this pain in both ankles and my left hip within the first mile of the race. Also it was the first time Alex and I ran together but not actually together, which made it mentally hard. AND it was cold and rainy and for some reason there were a ton of strollers to dodge. Not fun (oh…did I mention they spelled my name wrong on my bib?). So I took it super easy and finished in about 48 minutes (chip time). I’ll be using the $10 off purchases of $50 at Fleet Feet coupon on the back of my bib very soon for some new shoes!

After some Starbucks to warm us up, we came home, took a few hours getting cleaned up slowly, and headed up to Charlotte to meet Katie and Stew for an incredibly decadent evening out. We saw some interesting cars on the way up…

And we met the famous Weaz (and Ralphie and Waldo!).


We sampled Stew’s hummus and salsa (too much cilantro…any cilantro is too much cilantro) and had a beer or two.

Then we headed out for wine and chocolate at Petit Philippe. We got their tasting flight for the night (3 Italian reds) and I was the only one who liked the most expensive one best. Whatever guys. We were fascinated by the silt in our glasses…

The “OMG” (salted caramel) chocolate and especially the Earl Grey one were life changing. Get you some.

I had really wanted to try The Cowfish, but they were all booked for the whole night (maybe next time?) so we went for Mexican at Cantina 1511 instead.
I had a blood orange margarita…(and a camera that gets angry in low light)


..and veggie fajitas (way too much food!)


Alex’s…chimichanga? Who even knows?

And finally we rounded out the night with another famous Charlotte place, Amelie’s.


I tried one of each flavor of macaron they had (grape, lemon, and cinnamon sugar, I think?)…and they were stale and kind of gross. I also had a famous salted-caramel brownie, after the OMG chocolate at Petit Philippe got me all excited about salted caramel. It was every bit as good as they say.

When we finally got back to Katie and Stew’s place we were all in calorie-and-not-enough-water comas, so we took a few mint Tums for the road…and then drove home. In the pouring rain. Way too late at night. Not fun. But totally, totally worth it! We’ll be back, guys!

On the agenda for today: water, a smoothie, quality time with Hippo and Achilles, and dinner at my in-laws’!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Liza / Mar 6 2011 1:40 pm

    Dinner at the in-laws! : ) ♥

  2. strit / Mar 15 2011 1:43 pm

    THATS THE LAST TIME I MAKE YOU ANYTHING.

    jk… come back? :<

Leave a Reply

